Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Saturday, 26 June 2010

The real estate saga: Part III

Posted on 13:47 by Unknown
Looking over my past blog posts, I realize that I've been spending a lot of time over the last year thinking about real estate. Unfortunately for people who read this blog, I've been writing about it a lot too. I think real estate as a blogging topic is a lot like babies: you only care about the minutiae if you're going through it too.

But it's my blog and I never bore myself, so I give you Part III. In Part I, we put an offer on an expensive house in our favorite neighborhood in town. The offer was accepted, but in Part II, it fell through after the inspection revealed some nasty issues and the sellers refused to negotiate. JW was upset -- he had already started sketching out his kitchen renovation plans. I was less upset because, being the one who talks to the real estate agent, I had seen it coming. From the beginning, it seemed like the sellers regretted accepting our offer. I was even a little relieved because I was worried that we were getting in over our heads financially.

Less than a week later, we ended up putting an offer on another house -- three doors down from the one that got away. It just so happened that even though houses in this neighborhood rarely go on sale, the family that had lived there for over sixty years was selling because the elderly father was moving to an assisted living facility and the daughter decided she couldn't afford a four-bedroom house by herself. (I knew this story, ironically, because I had seen her outside and had stopped to talk with her, introducing myself with, "Hi, I'm going to be your new neighbor!") We knew this house had the same expensive wiring and roof issues as the other house, so we offered substantially less than the purchase price and explained why in an accompanying letter. She didn't counteroffer, but accepted on the condition that we take the house as is, with no further adjustments based on the inspection. Done.

The inspection didn't turn up anything unexpected. Our inspector knocked $25 off the price and joked that the next one would be free. The mortgage approval went through. Now there's no turning back. Closing is in mid-August.

The house is similar to the one down the street: lots of wood, Arts and Crafts style, built in 1917. It has a two-car detached garage, not so easy to find in our town. There's a screened-in porch on the first floor and an indoor deck on the second floor -- no outdoor living space, but we'll see what we can do about that. The four bedrooms and bathroom are on the second floor. The walk-up attic is huge (the inspector exclaimed, "This is the biggest friggin' attic I've ever seen!") and has great bones. In the other house, they had finished the similar attic into a beautiful family room / master bedroom suite. I would love to do that here. There's a partially finished basement with a crumbling tile floor, a half bath, laundry area, and a pool table that they said we'd leave for us. We planned to turn that space into a playroom, but hey, free pool table. If we change our mind I'm sure we can get someone to take it off our hands.

The worst part is the kitchen. Forget how ugly it is, with gray plastic tile on the walls and ancient flowered wallpaper -- we can fix that. The problem is that nearly all the wall space is taken up by windows and doors. As a result, there are NO cabinets or countertops, or shelving on the wall deeper than six inches, and no way to really add any of that without major structural changes. And then there's the random staircase in one corner, the huge drywalled-over chimney that bisects the room, the sink in a separate room, and the asbestos vinyl tile on the floor. And no dishwasher, which may seem like the least of our problems but it'll be hard to go back to life without one. We had a contractor come in and give us an estimate. He said, "I hate to price myself out of this, but I want to be honest with you, and based on my experience and what I've seen here, here's my breakdown of the costs." The total came to $87,500! (To be fair, that included a half bath. There's no bathroom on the first floor, so we wanted to turn the pantry into one and move the sink into the actual kitchen.) So we no longer feel like we got such a great deal on the house. But at least the bright side is that, since we can't possibly afford to redo the kitchen now, that's one less financial obligation.

I'm getting a little nostalgic about our current house, which we love and have worked hard on for years. I am really sad to lose our open floor plan. It's so convenient when you have little kids to be able to cook dinner while watching them play in the living room. Now that K's old enough to be by himself for a little while, he'll even play in the basement while I'm upstairs. Our house is so open that I can hear every move he makes and it's easy for me to run down and check on him every few minutes. We also have huge bedrooms, central air, an attached garage, two full baths, and a lovely kitchen that we renovated about a year after we moved in -- all things that the new place doesn't have. In some ways, it feels like a downgrade.

But the new house is in our ideal neighborhood (and the neighborhood is our big problem with the current house -- in fact, we've been hearing from potential buyers that they love the house but don't like the neighborhood). It has room to expand, in either the attic or the basement. It has room for a total of four cars in the garage and driveway, which is important because our town has an overnight parking ban in winter. And JW reminded me that we've done a LOT of work on our current house to get it the way we want it. When we moved in, the kitchen was covered in pink bathroom tile and peeling Formica (and, like the bathroom, was coated in a layer of scum). There were giant hedges choking the house and leaning over the sidewalk. The basement flooded regularly, including once with sewage. There was virtually no insulation. I could go on, but you get the idea -- there will be problems with any new place, and it takes work and time to make it into the home you want. Besides, problems that seem like near-dealbreakers at the beginning can fade into the scenery over time (like the 1970s lavender bathroom in our current house, featuring a lavender tub, toilet, sink, and lavender tiles covering the entire ceiling, and a blinding light that makes you feel you've just stepped into a lavender inferno).

So, starting at the end of August, prepare for this string of real estate posts to turn into a home-improvement series. And if we don't sell our house by October, prepare for my regular posts to turn into a series of paid advertisements.

P.S. - I didn't originally list this one because it was easily removable, but for posterity I want to record my favorite horrible thing about our current house: the lavender blinds WITH ORANGE TRIM. I'm no interior designer, but lavender and orange? That goes way beyond "wacky 70s color scheme" and into crazytown.
Read More
Posted in house | No comments

Wednesday, 23 June 2010

Men and women and making partner

Posted on 19:44 by Unknown
Excerpt from an interview with Suzanne Graeser, a corporate partner at MoFo, on Ms. JD:
What are your thoughts on the retaining women in corporate law practice?
I am very aware of the lack of female partners in corporate law, and it has been getting progressively worse.
Recruiting and retaining more female partners is one way to help remedy the issue.  Many female associates become corporate lawyers, but they often choose to go in-house or leave the legal profession after a few years.  If the leadership had more women, more women would likely be hired and more women would stay. Seeing women in positions of power helps attorneys visualize a successful career path as a female corporate partner.
I don't disagree with this. Role models in positions of power who people can identify with are always important. I agree that if women who would otherwise become corporate partners at law firms are being deterred for some reason, it's a bad thing. And maybe, because of the lack of opportunity, role models, whatever, women don't see making partner in the corporate department of a large firm as a viable option and don't give it as much consideration as they do other career paths. I'm sure that's true for some women.

But frankly, maybe most women see what life as a corporate partner in a large law firm is like and decide they don't want that. If you're an American woman in a position to become a corporate partner, you probably have a financial choice about whether to work, and you certainly have societal approval of choosing not to work. So you choose to work, but you're conscious that you're making a trade-off against your family. As a result, you actively seek balance. Life as a corporate partner does not give you that, so you consider alternatives.

On the other hand, if you're an American man in a position to become a corporate partner, you may have a financial choice about whether to work, but you certainly don't have anyone telling you that working is a choice or that staying home is a valid choice. You may think about work-life balance, but when other people talk about balance, it's often in the context of "women's issues." Even though you may want more time with your family, your job at the large law firm doesn't permit it, and that's just the way it is.

I'm generalizing, of course. But I do think that women are more likely to pursue nontraditional paths, and specifically paths that are less likely to lead to traditional positions of power, because we see our careers as our choice. In contrast, men are more likely to see their careers as their duty and maybe even their primary purpose, so they are more focused on traditional success and power.

I have met many a male partner or senior associate who says he wishes he had more time with his kids, but it's just not possible. And I have met many a female partner or senior associate -- well, scratch that "many," because the majority of female partners and senior associates I know are childless, but let's talk about the ones with kids -- who has taken a part-time position or left law firm life to find a more flexible arrangement. Every female associate I know with kids has at least thought about part-time, while the male associates don't even consider it. I think it's because the women have permission to think about and search for work-life balance, but the men for the most part don't, at least not yet.
Read More
Posted in work | No comments

Thursday, 3 June 2010

Whimsy, under wraps

Posted on 20:19 by Unknown
Dear Ana,

I've been meaning to email you back, but somehow it turned into this blog post instead.

In eighth grade, my English teacher taught us how to write. Really write. That year, I churned out creative stories, personal narratives, persuasive essays, and analytical pieces. I wrote and rewrote, and poured my heart out into my writing.

On the last day of class, this teacher (who was more than a little eccentric) said that if we raised our hands, he would tell us exactly what he thought of us. When I raised my hand, he peered at me and said, "Smarts. Tremendous smarts." I'm sure he saw it as a huge compliment. I was crushed. After reading everything I had written for a year, he saw nothing more in me than what everyone else saw.

In my mid-twenties, a coworker who had known me all of two days said to me out of the blue, "I bet you were a very good student who was well-behaved and always raised your hand." I had to laugh, but I was appalled that this (accurate) impression came across so quickly and so clearly, even after fifteen years.

So when you wrote:
You're very responsible and grown up and well-behaved and stuff, but you come across to me as having [an] artist-like personality . . .  It's not always obvious in the posts, but you do have a fair amount of whimsy and imagination and curiosity.

 you gave me a gift. It's always the "well-behaved and stuff" that people see. Thanks for reading closely and seeing more in me.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Wednesday, 2 June 2010

How to ask

Posted on 02:13 by Unknown
I was surprised to receive several responses to my three-sentence post about reducing my cable bill. Most were along the lines of, "How did you do that?"

A short and simple guide to (this kind of) negotiation:

1. Figure out what concrete actions or results you want, and what a reasonable alternative would be. Come up with both a dream outcome and an outcome that you'd accept as being better than your alternative. Don't limit your dream outcome to what you think is reasonable. You are likely to underestimate. Just think about what you want.

2. Research. Find some objective standard. Revise #1 if necessary.

(For me: I looked at my cable company's website and the competing cable company's website and checked their rates. I decided that my dream outcome would be if my company would give me their promotional rate of $75, and an acceptable outcome would be if they would keep our current rate of $100. Anything more and I'd switch to the competitor.)

3. Rationally explain the situation and directly ask for your desired outcome. Don't be emotional, don't apologize, don't beat around the bush.

4. If you don't get what you want, find different ways to ask.

5. If you get some of what you want, keep asking.

6. Continue asking until you're satisfied.

Did you notice steps #3-6 boil down to "Keep asking"? That's right.

My negotiation went something like this.
Me: "Hi, I got a letter saying that our rate was being increased by $25 a month. I'm calling to ask for a better rate."
Cable Company: "Sorry, you had a promotional rate which goes up after an initial term of 12 months."
Me: "Can you reduce it?"
CC: "Let me see what I can do... I can give you a rate of $120."
Me: "Your website says your promotional rate is $75. Can I get that rate?"
CC: "No, that's for new customers only."
Me: "Do I qualify for any promotions? I'd like to get the rate lower." (At this point if they said no, I would have mentioned that their competitor's rate was $100 a month and asked if they could match that.)
CC: "Well... I can give you a rate of $100 a month."
Me: "Is that the best rate you can give me?"
CC: "If you'll wait on hold, I'll talk to a manager... I can give you a rate of $95 a month, but it will only be good for six months and after that you'll need to call and we'll reevaluate your rate. We can't go any lower than that."
Me: "Great, thanks for your help."

You may not always get what you want, but asking can only help you. It seems scary until you get used to doing it, and then it feels great. Hearing "no" isn't nearly as daunting when you realize how much you can gain with even an occasional "yes."

I've recommended this book before and I'll recommend it again: "Ask for It" by Linda Babcock and Sarah Laschever drives this point home and has detailed steps you can take to practice asking for what you want.

I also recently found this fantastic blog, The Daily Asker. Inspired by Babcock's work, the author asked for something every day for a year and chronicled her efforts. Here's one of her summary posts, "88 Things I Discovered."   Gudnuff, if you're still wondering whether these types of skills can be taught, read this blog and wonder no more.
Read More
Posted in | No comments
Newer Posts Older Posts Home
Subscribe to: Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ▼  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ▼  June (4)
      • The real estate saga: Part III
      • Men and women and making partner
      • Whimsy, under wraps
      • How to ask
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ►  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile