Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Tuesday, 29 January 2013

January

Posted on 12:56 by Unknown
January has passed by in a blur.

K has been sick on and off, and it's a rare week when both kids are in school every day. That's winter in New England with little kids.

It has snowed here and there. Always the light, fluffy kind, and never on successive days. We've gotten off easy so far, but we still have 2+ months of winter to go.

Work has been surprisingly easy to deal with. I'm trying not to get complacent, but it's been manageable for the past month or so. I've been doing work I like, and on the schedule I planned. I haven't been staffed on big deals since going part-time, which is fine with me. I think the partners are making an effort to work with my new schedule.

I've been reading the book Self-Compassion by Kristin Neff. I love it. It's such a simple concept, but so powerful. Instead of going directly from "I feel bad about what I did" to "I suck," I have been trying to make a stop in between to say to myself, "It's okay. I was under a lot of pressure and I reacted badly. Everyone makes mistakes sometimes. I'll try to do better next time." I appreciate how she adds in her own life stories without sugarcoating them. For instance, she tells the story of how she cheated on her first husband and they got divorced. She doesn't blame or judge herself, but she also doesn't let herself off the hook. She plainly describes what she did and acknowledges that she hurt herself and others. She also acknowledges that looking back, she can understand why she acted that way.

One thing the book has helped me with is dealing with my childhood, which was not particularly happy. She talks about how patterns and events that happened in your childhood shape you as an adult. My approach to my feelings about my childhood has been to squelch them and firmly tell myself that I'm an adult now. And yet, somehow, my negative feelings about childhood have not evaporated in a whiff of maturity. So I started talking about it with my therapist this week. Just having someone acknowledge that all these things are legitimately difficult to deal with and I'm not just being overly sensitive or making things up was a relief.

Last weekend my in-laws came for a visit. Friday night K, Daddy and Grandpa all went to a hockey game. Harvard was playing Clarkson, Grandpa's alma mater. K came back happy with a full list of all the snacks he ate. I stayed home and passed out early. Saturday all the menfolk went to the Children's Museum while JW's mom and I ran errands, went out to lunch, and went clothes shopping. I had to buy a dress for a friend's wedding. (My first time at Nordstrom Rack -- $25 for a formal dress that I saw online for over $100! It's like Marshall's but with stuff from Nordstrom!) I think it was the longest time I've spent one-on-one with her, and it was really nice. She came into the dressing room with me, which was a little awkward, but she kept saying encouraging things like, "You look great! I wish I could fit into a dress like that," and "Honey, show off that cleavage while you still have it!" When I told JW about this, he said, "That's what moms are supposed to do." No wonder he's so well-adjusted.

I started meal planning! I don't know why it seemed like such an impossible task for so long. Twenty minutes on a Saturday and our week goes so much smoother, plus we have less waste and smaller grocery bills.

I started doing mindfulness meditation. Well, actually I started falling asleep while attempting to do mindfulness meditation. But at least that results in more sleep. It's a start.

And that's my January. How about you?
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Sunday, 20 January 2013

Mothers in the Legal Profession (MILP) Roundup # 287

Posted on 20:25 by Unknown
The weekly Mothers In the Legal Profession Roundup is hosted on a rotating basis at the Butterflyfish, PT Law Mom, Attorney at Large, Attorney Work Product, Today Advocating Tomorrow, Reluctant Grownup, and Magic Cookie blogs.

What's on our minds this week...

BABIES.
A new one! Congratulations, Alice!
An old one. Grace's trip down memory lane.
A potential one... or maybe Izzie is just scaring her husband.
Another potential one... for real, according to PT-LawMom.
And Dinei is trying to figure out what the hell happened last time.

OUR OLDER KIDS.
Attorney at Large is coming to some tough conclusions about school.
But I Do Have a Law Degree is living the chaos of two little boys.
CP is feeling empathy for her parents.

BALANCE. (Or, as always, lack thereof.)
The Reluctant Grownup could use some.
Butterflyfish needs time for herself.
Cowgirl in the City sets her alarm for 3:30 a.m.

AND OTHER STUFF.
Weight loss, job, illness... Frenchie doesn't want to talk about it.
Kate returns to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.
Lag Liv does a Q&A.
Mommy Madness is going skiing.
Pseudostoops thinks office tooth-brushing is weird.
Read More
Posted in MILP | No comments

Thursday, 10 January 2013

Pitch Perfect

Posted on 13:01 by Unknown
This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice before my rental expired. I'm considering buying it. I've been watching outtakes on YouTube. The songs have been stuck in my head all week. I even learned how to do the cup song.

Despite my unexpected love for this movie, its depiction of minorities and especially Asians really bothers me. There's the roommate who refuses to talk to Beca, refers to her as "white girl," and only acts like a human being to other Koreans. (Then again, considering that Beca's first words after "hello" are "Do you speak English," maybe her behavior is warranted.) And then there's the lone Asian-American girl in the a cappella group, who has the "Chinese doll" look (bright red lipstick, thick bangs, eyes always looking off to one side) and never speaks above a whisper. It's ironic that the love interest in the movie fetishizes the 80s Brat Pack movies, because the portrayal of Asians in those movies was also incredibly offensive. Think Long Duck Dong. At least Pitch Perfect didn't play a gong every time the Asian characters appeared.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Wednesday, 9 January 2013

Knock knock

Posted on 20:05 by Unknown
As longtime readers of this blog may know, our family loves knock knock jokes. So it was a big moment when X told his first today:

X: Knock knock.
K: Who's there?
X: Knock knock.
K: Knock knock who?
X: Knock knock moo.

...It's a work in progress.

K came up with some pretty good "what do you get if you cross..." jokes this morning:

What do you get if you cross a nap and a pumpkin?
A napkin.

What do you get if you cross a ball and a pin?
A rolling pin.

Here are the knock knock jokes I came up with:

Knock knock.
Who's there?
Owlsay.
Owlsay who?
That's right, owls say hoo!

Knock knock.
Who's there?
Who.
Who who?
You sound like an owl!

And we were telling "guy walks into a bar" jokes the other day, which it turns out aren't that funny if you have to explain them to a 5-year old who then wants you to tell them over and over. Here's one I invented (which may very well be derived from another one I've heard somewhere):

A duck walks into a bar. He says, "One beer, please!" The bartender gives him a beer.
The next day, the duck walks into the same bar. He says, "One beer, please!" The bartender gives him a beer.
The next day, the duck walks into the same bar. He says, "One beer, please!" The bartender gives him a beer.
The next day, the duck walks into the same bar. He says, "Quack!"
The bartender says, "Oh, I thought you were going to say, 'One beer, please!'"
The duck says, "Are you crazy? Ducks can't talk!"

Thank you, I'll be here all week.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Tuesday, 8 January 2013

X loves to rake

Posted on 17:39 by Unknown

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Saturday, 5 January 2013

Bathroom humor

Posted on 16:34 by Unknown
K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse.

K: Mommy, come here!
Me: Are you done?
K: No, but come in. Hey Mommy. What do you call a ninja who smiles?
Me: Uh... a happy ninja?
K: The smiley ninja!
Me: Is that a joke?
K: Yes, haha! The smiley ninja!
Me: Why are you holding so much toilet paper?
K: You can go now.

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 3 January 2013

Happy New Year

Posted on 09:35 by Unknown
2013! I already said my one resolution is to work on self-compassion this year. But here are some more concrete things I'd like to accomplish:
- Kitchen renovation. We need a dishwasher!
- Make the basement into a usable space.
- Get better at drawing and piano.
- Establish a regular exercise habit.
- Take a family vacation.
- Do weekly meal plans.

In 2012, here are some of the things I did:
- Made the transition to public school from daycare with K.
- Figured out I was unhappy at work and started doing something about it.
- Started therapy and started learning how to meditate.
- Cut my hair, somewhat improved my wardrobe, and learned how to wear a scarf.
- Made several tries at exercise routines. All of them got derailed, but I kept trying!
- Put some stuff on the walls at home; made significant progress in clearing out the basement.
- Took an awesome 10th anniversary vacation to Costa Rica, just the two of us.
- Started a working mom's group in my town.
- Planted stuff! Even though my plants mostly died.
- Joined the MILP rounduppers.
- Finally got into the habit of daily flossing.
- Did some election stuff for Elizabeth Warren. I hate knocking on doors, but it's like a hard workout -- the suffering feels good when it's over.
- Financially, cleaned up my low-yielding retirement account and started a 529 for X -- and paid off all my student loans!!!

This year I will be 35. By the time you're 40, you're supposed to have it together, right? I think I'm on the path.
Read More
Posted in | No comments
Newer Posts Older Posts Home
Subscribe to: Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ▼  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ▼  January (7)
      • January
      • Mothers in the Legal Profession (MILP) Roundup # 287
      • Pitch Perfect
      • Knock knock
      • X loves to rake
      • Bathroom humor
      • Happy New Year
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ►  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ►  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile