Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Wednesday, 18 March 2009

Bostonian's lament

Posted on 04:35 by Unknown
Warning! I am about to commit two cardinal sins of blogging: (1) whining (2) about the weather.

I lasted until mid-March, but now I'm calling it. I am officially sick of being cold. I'm tired of wearing three layers indoors, tired of my eyes watering and nose running when I stay outside too long, tired of jogging in place in the shower. I have not been warm in months. I NEED TO BE WARM. Not "warm for winter," not "warm as long as you keep moving," not "the thermostat says it's seventy degrees, what are you complaining about?" Just WARM.

In law school it would always annoy me when people complained about how much Boston sucked compared to where they were from. If the weather/nightlife/Mexican food is so much better in Texas or California, maybe you should have STAYED there. It's not like someone put a gun to your head and forced you to come to Boston. But at the tail end of winter each year, a little voice in my head wonders if we were crazy to ever move back here.

One weekend, when JW and I were living in San Francisco years ago, we went down to the South Bay to visit friends. As we walked through a park on a bright 78-degree day, I said, "I forgot how big a difference the sun makes! I always felt so happy when I lived down here." JW gave me the cold shoulder until I asked him what was wrong and he exploded, "You went on and on about how much happier you were before I moved here!" I felt terrible. I had phrased it carelessly, but of course your level of life happiness is different than the mood you're in when you wake up in the morning. My life was much better when JW and I ditched the long-distance and he moved out west to be with me. My life is great right now. But I have to say, on a daily basis, I have never been in a consistently better mood than when I lived in a place where it was warm and sunny nearly every day, and I could step outside (without a coat on) and be in a park within five minutes.

(P.S. - This is my 1,000th post!)
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ►  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ▼  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ▼  March (11)
      • J.D., finally
      • Special occasion
      • My first securities filing
      • Sunday cooking
      • Grapefruit yogurt cake
      • Bostonian's lament
      • Pinkeye
      • Symphony in ABC
      • Two things I learned in the past two days
      • Things we have eaten
      • In the past 2 weeks...
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile