Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Wednesday, 28 April 2010

Mortgage

Posted on 13:47 by Unknown
We got a mortgage pre-approval letter today. We're considering making an offer on a house.

On one hand, it's a great house in my favorite neighborhood in town, with several neighbors we already know and like. It's spacious and is in move-in condition. Other than the lack of a garage, and maybe the size of the backyard, it's exactly what we're looking for. We've been keeping a close eye on the market for over six months now and have been waiting for the perfect place. This is the first one we both agreed we should put an offer on.

On the other hand, it makes me feel a little ill to consider borrowing more than the purchase price of our entire current house. This place is listed at just above the top of our price range, and there's probably not too much room for negotiation because the neighborhood is popular and houses rarely go on sale there. We can afford it now, but what if one of us loses our job, or decides to cut back or go to a lower-paying job or go back to school? What about all my student loans?

We could get a beautiful condo for $150,000 less than this house, even though it would be smaller (probably 3 bedrooms, 1.5 baths instead of 5/2.5). We could easily make do with three bedrooms. We could even make do with our current two-bedroom house. The previous owner lived there her entire adult life, and brought up two boys there. It seems crazy to spend so much to get a single-family house, which are in short supply in our town.

It would be nice for baby #2, when that happens, to get a bedroom, and to have a place to put up our parents other than the basement, and to have some extra living space. It would be nice to have a place of our own instead of having upstairs or downstairs neighbors. It would be really nice to live on that street.

But $150,000 worth of nice? (I guess the $150,000 isn't a real number, since we'd probably just stay in our current house before buying a condo. But we might be able to spend $50,000 less and get something we liked. Not that we've seen that yet.)

After we walked through the house, I was sure we should put an offer on it. But seeing that number on the pre-approval letter is giving me pause.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in house | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ▼  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ▼  April (5)
      • Mortgage
      • To do in eight years
      • Weekend cooking: Brunch!
      • My birthday
      • How do you feel
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ►  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile