Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Sunday, 26 September 2010

Six minutes

Posted on 20:28 by Unknown
I should have gone to bed a long time ago. It's been a very long week and I'm exhausted. Even conking out at K's bedtime last night wasn't enough to overcome the sleep deficit. But I'm giving myself six minutes for a catch-up post.

Work: I compose lots of blog posts in my head about work. They never make it up here because on the nights that I'm not actually working after K's bedtime, I don't want to sit in front of the computer and risk getting sucked in. Work is busy, except when it's not and I sit around all day but still need to be next to my phone in case somebody calls. I'm nowhere near making my hours for the year, but I think most people are in the same boat. Reviews are coming up and in the back of my head, I'm always worried about being fired. I enjoy my job. Substantively, my favorite part is a very small percentage of what I do, technology transactions and IP licensing. I also enjoy working with startups -- you get access at the highest levels of the company (often because the company consists of three guys at first) and you can really help them progress with their vision. Plus, different companies often have variations on the same problem, so you can develop some expertise quickly. The largest percentage of what I do is helping startups raise money. Frankly, this is not my passion, and neither is M&A, which is also a fairly large chunk of my work. But it's been interesting and educational to see how these deals work and what people negotiate over. Qualitatively, I like most of the people I work with and think it's a friendly, interesting, and smart group, and I like the flexibility. I hate billable hours. I know this is nothing new, but really, I would be so much more productive if I weren't constantly trying to keep track of every six minutes of my time and if I weren't always worried about my numbers.

Pregnancy: Going smoothly so far, thank goodness, because between work, K, a town commitment that I'm involved in (and have been making waves in a very polite but somewhat controversial way), the move, the refinance, and all the negotiations involved in selling our old place, I have more than enough on my mind. Will give it more thought once everything else calms down. K has been getting more excited about the idea of having a new baby -- he was never interested in babies before, but he exclaimed over the cuteness of his newborn cousin and said, while we watched a little girl toddle by, "Look at her shiny shoes! We should get a baby like that."

Oh, I finally told at work. As somebody (LL?) said to me when I asked about what this was like: "We work at a law firm. Nobody is going to say anything but 'congratulations.'" Yup. Not a big deal.

K: Is awesome. I am so impressed at his ability to regulate and talk about his emotions. Tonight he was having a bit of a meltdown right before bed, which I was more or less ignoring, and he just pulled himself together and said matter-of-factly, "Wipe my tears. I have a lot of them tonight," and then we continued with our bedtime routine. Maybe I'd prefer if I didn't hear "Mommy?" every thirty seconds, especially when I am trying to focus on anything else but him, but I know I'll miss that one day.

House: Getting there. In another two weeks or so maybe I'll be ready to have people over. Would love to have one K-less day to get house stuff done, but it's not going to happen.

Baking experiments: Profiteroles were excellent (a little deflated, I never cook my choux paste for long enough), and I loved having a cup full of chocolate ganache in the fridge, even though I developed a hot fudge sundae habit. Bouchons au thon smelled and looked repulsive to me and I have to admit I didn't even try one. I brought them to a party where they were all eaten, so apparently they were edible. I overcooked the Nutella brownies because I got distracted by a potty situation, so I can't really judge them fairly, but I think that unless company's coming and I have ten minutes to get something in the oven, I'd rather just eat Nutella out of the jar.

The end! More when I get some of that elusive free time.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in food, pregnancy#2, toddler k, work | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ▼  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ▼  September (6)
      • Growing
      • Preschool
      • Six minutes
      • Transitions
      • K progress
      • The past week
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ►  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile