Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Sunday, 1 January 2012

Happy New Year 2012!

Posted on 06:50 by Unknown
Happy New Year, all!

This year my kids will be 1 and 5. K will start kindergarten! JW will find a new career direction. X will learn how to walk and talk. I will practice yoga every day and attain enlightenment, all the while astounding clients with my corporate law wizardry. Or something. I think I'm the only one who doesn't have a big transition planned for this year.

My motto for this year is: LESS THINKING, MORE DOING. Too much thinking gets me in trouble.

I also resolve to take better care of myself this year: try to get to sleep by 10 p.m. every night, get more exercise, find clothes that fit my post-baby body. The baby is ten months old now (as of today!) and has been sleeping through the night for a while. It's been nearly two months since I last nursed him. Things are back to normal enough that I feel like I can pay more attention to my own needs.

Looking back on my goals for 2011, I'm about 50-50. Here they are:
Get in better shape than I was in pre-baby. NOPE.
Revamp my wardrobe so I have decent, fitting clothes that I actually like to wear both in and out of the house (and other appearance-related goals). NOPE.
Get out of the house daily during maternity leave. CHECK. Sigh... maternity leave. I loved it so.
Start learning piano. CHECK.
Plan a summer vacation. NOPE. JW wouldn't cooperate.
Get professional photos taken. CHECK.
Figure out daycare. CHECK.
Get the house in better shape. A little yes, a little no.
Budget and use financial software. We tried this; it didn't stick; it's not that much of a priority but is something we may go back to.
Do something town-related. CHECK. Joined the board of our local foundation.
Be able to talk about sports. NOPE. Forgot about this one. I guess it wasn't a priority after all.
Possibly try meditation. Sort of. Would still like to do more of this.
Join a book club and/or reading website; keep track of books read. Sort of. Tried it, didn't stick, but now that I have a Kindle it's keeping track of books read for me.

Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ▼  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ▼  January (14)
      • Eight things
      • Who owns the data
      • Kid art
      • Why I went to law school, and what happened next
      • Creature Report
      • Mom of the future
      • Working moms group
      • Part-time
      • Work anxiety
      • My Year of No
      • 10 months
      • K's birthday party
      • New Year's Weekend
      • Happy New Year 2012!
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ►  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ►  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (17)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile