Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Thursday, 16 July 2009

Five years, part 1

Posted on 07:18 by Unknown
Five years ago today I wrote my first post on this blog.

I had just decided to disrupt our comfortable lives by applying to law school, after months of soul-searching about what I really wanted to do with my life. I applied to five schools, three in Boston and two in New York. After lots of worrying about money and moving, I got into school right down the street. I quit my job, took a summer vacation, and started law school. I adapted pretty quickly to student life and survived 1L year, getting through classes, exams, moot court, the summer job search, and an unsuccessful law review write-on.

Looking back, I can see that I became MUCH more laid-back about law school after getting pregnant, which, if you're keeping score at home, happened during 1L exams. During my Torts exam, to be exact. Don't worry, it was a take-home. Pregnancy kinda sucked, even though it had its moments. I was in my second trimester when I started my 2L year. Doing OCI during a heatwave while pregnant was an adventure. As the semester drew to an end, I got excited about the baby (and realized I didn't want to be a corporate lawyer).

Winter term provided a needed distraction from the third trimester, and I was a little wistful when I saw everybody heading off to class in the spring. Especially since I was just sitting around waiting. And waiting. And waiting. And wishing he would come out already.

After a long and eventful labor, out came K!

As it turns out, it takes a long time to recap five years, especially when you should be studying for the bar, so part 2 tomorrow...
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in 1L, 2L, baby k, pre-law, pregnancy | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ►  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ▼  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ▼  July (17)
      • Done with the bar exam
      • I did the MBE and it wasn't so bad
      • Optimism
      • Library!
      • Those Harvard guys
      • Five years, part 2
      • Five years, part 1
      • Two weeks
      • Done with bar lectures!
      • We drew engines all morning
      • Weekend baking: soft pretzels
      • K's joke
      • Prince Philip
      • What I learned from half a lecture on family law
      • Lessons from the simulated MBE
      • A rant about the law
      • More Statute of Frauds
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile