Magic Cookie: Pitch Perfect

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Wednesday, 29 July 2009

I did the MBE and it wasn't so bad

Posted on 19:05 by Unknown
Done with Day 1 of the bar exam.

Yesterday I blew off the last few study items on my list and took a mental health day. I finally used the birthday gift certificate from my sister-in-law and got a massage and my first-ever facial. Then I went to see a movie, and spent the evening hanging with the family. At night I slept like a baby (meaning I woke up a few times, but got back to sleep) and woke up feeling relaxed and back to my old self. Which meant that I was honestly happy, not just convincing-myself happy, that the bar exam was finally here and I could stop spending every spare moment answering multiple-choice questions.

I got there a little early and took a walk around. A comparison between the bar exam and labor popped into my head -- both take lots of preparation and are anticipated with horror, but once you get through them, they're done and you never have to think about them again. (Until you get to the next state or kid.) But then I realized that labor was the most excruciating pain of my life and there was no way the bar exam could compare. I've given birth. I can handle way worse than this.

These thoughts comforted me while I ate a second breakfast. My main concern with the MBE morning session was eating enough. When I'm hungry I get distracted and can only think about food. I ate enough to focus during the morning, but in the afternoon there were lots of criminal law questions and those distract me too. I always start imagining myself as the criminal defendant and daydream elaborate scenarios where I plead for justice or scheme to evade it.

The exam conditions were more humane than I expected. The proctors were nice, we had plenty of room, the bathrooms were clean, nobody seemed to be freaking out. The actual test was tough, but so similar to the Barbri practice tests, right down to the typeface, that I felt pretty comfortable.

I finished both sessions way early, earning glares when I was one of the first ones to walk out. (I did check some of my answers, but I didn't think I was going to change anything and I really wanted to leave. So I left.) Between sessions, I walked into the city and treated myself to a fancy lunch.

The best part was when I got home. JW opened the door with a big smile, and K exclaimed, "Mommy, I bought you some ice cream!" And he did, too!

So, to quote Dr. Seuss, today is gone, today was fun, tomorrow is another one. I think tomorrow will be brutal. Not just because it's so much more material. And not just because, unlike today, I doubt I can crank out five essays in two hours. Given my past wrist problems, I will be medicated and possibly bandaged and am hoping that I will finish the day with full use of my hands. Wish me luck.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in bar | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • Bathroom humor
    K was in the potty, doing #2. He always takes forever, and wants me to hang out in there with him, but I usually refuse. K: Mommy, come here...
  • Phone call with X
    I had an entire phone conversation with X! (Why phone? Working late, of course.) Me: Hi X! It's Mommy! X: HI!! I TALKING MOMMY! Me: ...
  • Extended family vacation
    I wrapped up an eventful week at work early for my cousin's wedding. Weddings, actually. It's common in my community for people who ...
  • X loves to rake
  • Sock pocket
    Sometimes toddlers say things that just make you want to squeeze them. Yesterday K announced that at school, he had "learned the dance ...
  • The real estate saga, Part IV: Money
    We were going to take out a bridge loan to help with the down payment for the new house, and pay it off once our current house sold. That wo...
  • Monkeys in the house
    "Why is the mommy upset about the monkeys?" asked K while listening to the TMBG song "One Dozen Monkeys." "Probably...
  • Pitch Perfect
    This is kind of embarrassing, but not only did I watch Pitch Perfect on my day off last week, I became obsessed with it. I watched it twice ...
  • K's first solo trip
    I miss K, which is ridiculous since I normally wouldn't see him until later anyway. The grandparents came and took him away for a few da...
  • Community involvement
    Last fall, I ran unsuccessfully for local office. (48-51%!) Now I have two opportunities, both related. One is to join the board of a local ...

Categories

  • 1L (2)
  • 2L (2)
  • 3L (3)
  • baby k (10)
  • baby x (35)
  • bar (18)
  • books (12)
  • doctor appointment (2)
  • food (23)
  • house (19)
  • K update (6)
  • Lean In (11)
  • little boy k (11)
  • maternity leave (21)
  • MILP (21)
  • pictures (21)
  • pre-law (1)
  • pregnancy (1)
  • pregnancy#2 (26)
  • stories (1)
  • the real world (2)
  • toddler (1)
  • toddler k (101)
  • work (61)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (81)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (11)
    • ►  April (25)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (11)
    • ►  January (7)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (11)
    • ►  November (3)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (12)
    • ►  August (5)
    • ►  July (7)
    • ►  June (8)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (12)
    • ►  March (9)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (14)
  • ►  2011 (109)
    • ►  December (6)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (6)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (7)
    • ►  April (4)
    • ►  March (13)
    • ►  February (15)
    • ►  January (18)
  • ►  2010 (78)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (8)
    • ►  October (13)
    • ►  September (6)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (3)
    • ►  June (4)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (5)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (2)
    • ►  January (6)
  • ▼  2009 (119)
    • ►  December (8)
    • ►  November (2)
    • ►  October (7)
    • ►  September (7)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ▼  July (17)
      • Done with the bar exam
      • I did the MBE and it wasn't so bad
      • Optimism
      • Library!
      • Those Harvard guys
      • Five years, part 2
      • Five years, part 1
      • Two weeks
      • Done with bar lectures!
      • We drew engines all morning
      • Weekend baking: soft pretzels
      • K's joke
      • Prince Philip
      • What I learned from half a lecture on family law
      • Lessons from the simulated MBE
      • A rant about the law
      • More Statute of Frauds
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (12)
    • ►  April (17)
    • ►  March (11)
    • ►  February (8)
    • ►  January (9)
  • ►  2008 (1)
    • ►  December (1)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile