Everyone at work today was moaning and groaning about their aching muscles after shoveling all day yesterday. I sat on my butt all day yesterday. I slept late, billed a few hours here and there, hung out with the family, cooked dinner, and baked some bread. I feel great today. My (part of the) deal has slowed down and I've gotten nine hours of sleep each of the past two nights. Hooray for sleep! Suddenly the world looks bright and happy again. K has his appetite back -- he requested bacon, eggs, and oatmeal for breakfast this morning. We all got to school and work safely. I discovered that my everyday boots are waterproof, which is excellent because my snow boots sprung a leak two years ago and I never replaced them. My pants even stayed clean and dry the whole way to work, even though I had to walk back and forth from school twice because I forgot K's dry shoes the first time, and then chased the bus down the street. (I didn't catch it, not surprisingly. I was worried about falling so my "chase" was more like a fast shuffle.)
Last night I took a bath for the first time in my adult life. Being me, before I set foot in the tub I googled "how to take a bath." I came up with some racy videos, a few websites that said things like, "If you are reading this, you must be some kind of idiot. Put water in the tub and get in," and some tips for adding essential oils and lighting candles for a spa-like experience. That sounded nice, but I was too lazy to gather up oils and candles and things, so I went the idiot route and just filled the tub up with warm water. I'm not sure if I liked it. I couldn't get my whole body submerged even in our clawfoot tub. When you see someone in the bath on TV, isn't just the person's neck and head sticking out? Do you need a jacuzzi tub for that? At first I tried shifting from side to side, but that wasn't particularly comfortable. Then the baby started going berserk so I just lay there and watched the Alien-like bulges moving around my belly. I was tempted to call JW to watch, but didn't want to alarm him by yelling from the tub. I also didn't think he would be as impressed as I was. He knows there's a baby in there and the baby moves, so big deal, it's moving. But for me, it never stops being bizarre that there is a little person living inside my body.
People at work keep telling me I look "like I'm going to pop." I get this comment multiple times a day. Yes, I look that way, and I often feel that way, but I still have almost two months to go. I've also gotten several comments along the lines of, "You haven't gained weight except in your belly." That makes me a little uncomfortable because first of all, it's not true and it's been a little frustrating not being able to manage my weight through exercise like I usually do, and second, I know these people are well-meaning but I can't help feeling like they're looking me up and down and nodding approvingly that my butt hasn't expanded too much.
K has been extra-clingy lately. He constantly wants to hold hands and insists, "Sit NEXT to me," even if I'm just a few inches away but not physically touching him. If no one is actively playing with him or touching him, he complains that he's lonely. At least he's being equal-opportunity clingy. In the past he's been a mama's boy, but lately either Mommy or Daddy will do. It will pass, soon I hope.
Thursday, 13 January 2011
Well it's a sunny day, I feel brand new
Posted on 10:34 by Unknown
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment