K was still pretty miserable today. He hasn't thrown up again since early Saturday morning, but he's having major tummy problems and barely ate anything for the second day in a row (third day, if you count Friday when everything he ate or drank came back up). He's basically living on popsicles and Pedialyte, and the occasional bite of cracker or cereal that I can sneak into him. Luckily he's a good sick kid -- he's sad and naps a lot and wants to snuggle all the time, but he's not grouchy or irritable. Doctor neighbor thinks K has norovirus. He said it's very common this time of year and typically goes away within 2-3 days after the last bout of vomiting. Norovirus is highly contagious, so we'll see how JW and I fare over the next few days.
I billed nearly 15 hours yesterday, went to bed at 2 in the morning, and was woken up at 4:45 when K came in saying his tummy hurt. I took him to the bathroom, gave him some Tylenol, and got in bed with him for a while. We both napped on and off until about 7, and he felt a little better when he woke up.
Today I managed to avoid going into the office -- I offered, but also said I had a sick kid at home and would prefer to work from home if possible. I had to check my email every five minutes and spent several hours working, but it beat spending another entire weekend day at the office while K was miserable at home.
Since I was home, I managed to knock some items off my to-do list. One of them was cleaning out my jewelry box. Somehow I seemed to have lost at least one out of every pair of my favorite earrings in the move. I couldn't figure out how that happened, since I just picked up my jewelry box, put it in the passenger seat of the car, and drove it over. Today when I took out all the drawers of the jewelry box, I saw a jumble of earrings and necklaces that had slipped behind the bottom drawer, including the diamond studs that my parents gave me before K was born and the pearl earrings that were a gift from CT when I was maid of honor at her wedding. Hooray!
I also organized my sock drawer and threw out the socks with holes (I finally accepted that I will never actually darn them), assembled sweater drying racks in the laundry area, used up my second-to-last batch of holiday cookie dough (the holiday cookies never got made because I came down with shingles and it hurt to move), and I'm about to write my Christmas thank-you notes. We didn't get to do any of the family fun activities we had thought about for this weekend (trips to Ikea and to the library, IMAX movie at the Aquarium, lunch at Henrietta's Table as requested by K after he saw a segment about it during Curious George), but I didn't do too bad considering I spent most of the day working or cuddling with K.
JW, always productive, took down and put away all the Christmas decorations, did laundry, and cooked dinner. Once in a while I check to make sure he hasn't changed his mind about being a stay-at-home dad. I seem to be incapable of getting anything done with K around -- the only reason I did today was because he napped half the day. JW, on the other hand, is SuperDad.
I'm going to be optimistic and hope that K will sleep through the night and will be in better spirits tomorrow. At least I hope he eats an entire meal tomorrow.
Sunday, 9 January 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment