This Sunday is K's party with his kindergarten class at our house. So far the only effort I have put into it is sending an Evite to the parents a week in advance. I was hoping the short notice would deter people from coming (it's 21 kids!) but so far we already have 12 RSVPs. The plan is to have ice cream cake and frozen mini pizzas and pigs in a blanket, have the kids run around and break stuff, and call it a day.
Starting next year, X will probably want to have a class party too. If only I were one of those crafty moms who gets all excited about having a theme and cute decorations and games. I'm all about minimum effort for kid parties. I'd prefer skipping them altogether and having the kids do something special with a few close friends, which will hopefully happen as they get older. But for now it seems we're stuck with the invite-the-whole-class party. So far the kids haven't seemed to notice my lack of effort -- except when K asked, "What will my party invitations look like? Will they have Legos on them?" And my response was, "Oh, right... invitations." Then I quickly sent the Evite, and felt a little guilty.
So on Saturday we have to shop, and on Sunday we will attempt to clean, and then we'll be done for the year. My birthday is next, and it's much easier. I will have some kind of cake, several hours to myself, hugs from the kids, and a fancy dinner out with JW, and that's everything I want.
On Saturday I'm also going to finally get a haircut. I'm about a month overdue, which is a lot when you have short hair that needs to be cut every month. It's gotten to the point where I'm actually embarrassed to be seen by anyone outside my immediate family. See, K was sick, and then there was a blizzard, and then everyone was sick, and then it was the boys' birthday, and now there's another blizzard... but I can't have all the other kindergarten moms judging me. So Saturday it is, even if I have to park in a snowbank.
Thursday, 7 March 2013
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment